Temporarily hiding your profile
Discovery is the part of the app where you get to swipe other users. You can turn Discovery off so that you won’t be shown to anyone in Discovery. To turn Discovery ON or OFF, tap the profile icon at the top of the main screen > Settings > Discovery.
Even with Discovery off, you can still see and chat with your matches.
Note: People you have already liked may still have the opportunity to see your profile and like you back; this means you may still get new matches after you’ve turned Discovery off.
Permanently deleting your account
For security purposes, if you want to delete your account, you’ll need to do it while signed into the app or Tinder.com. Note that deleting your account means you'll permanently lose your matches, messages and other information associated with your account.
- Sign into the Tinder app or Tinder.com
- Tap the profile icon at the top of the main screen
- Go to Settings
- Scroll down and select Delete Account. When account deletion is successful, you'll see a confirmation message.
Note: Deleting the Tinder app does not delete your account. If you subscribed to Tinder Plus or Tinder Gold using your Apple ID or Google Play Store ID, deleting the app and/or your account does not cancel your subscription. If you subscribed on Android or Tinder for web (Tinder.com) using your credit card, deleting your account will cancel your subscription automatically.