Photo verification has two steps: Pose verification and face verification. You will receive "verified" status, once your selfie photo passes both pose and face verification steps.
Pose verification extracts pose geometries from your selfie photo using computer vision technology, and determine whether the pose geometry matches with the one we requested. Face verification detects your face in your selfie and your profile photos, and extracts facial geometries using facial recognition technology to generate a unique number or “template.” When your selfie template matches the template from your profile pictures, we know you’re the same person as your profile photos.
The pose geometries and your facial geometry template are deleted upon completing verification. Your selfie photos are not added to your profile, but are stored on our servers to allow you to easily reverify in the future.
How do you use the Photo Verification information?
We will only use the selfie photos and facial recognition information for the purposes of account verification.
What will you keep after verification is complete?
We will keep the two selfies to make it easier for you to reverify in the future. We’ll also keep the results of the verification process (i.e., verified or not). We do not keep the underlying facial recognition information or “template.”
How do I delete my selfie photos?
You can request deletion of the selfie photos by writing to our Community team here.
Under what legal authority do you process the Photo Verification information?
We process the Photo Verification information only with your consent.
What is Tinder’s Policy for the retention and destruction of biometric information?
Biometric information—namely, facial geometries that allow us to conduct facial recognition on your selfies and profile pictures for the purposes of verifying your account—are only created and retained with your consent for the duration of the account verification process. Typically, this is completed in a matter of minutes. Once your account verification is complete, the biometric information is deleted. We retain the selfies that you took in case you want to easily reverify in the future, but the facial recognition information pulled from those photos is deleted.
When Tinder deletes the biometric information following the completion of the verification processes, it is permanently purged from its systems and can no longer be retrieved.
How do I find more information about Tinder’s data practices, including my privacy rights?
What if I have another question?
Contact us anytime!