What is photo verification?
Photo Verification allows you to verify your profile, showing potential matches you’re really you.
Photo Verification gives you an opportunity to make more informed decisions before you Like or Nope, and is just one of the ways we keep Tinder a safe space for meeting new people.
How does it work?
Photo verification has two steps: Pose verification and face verification.
- Open Tinder and tap the profile icon
- Tap the gray checkmark by your name/age
- Select ‘Verify your profile’ to begin
- You’ll be shown a pose and we’ll ask you to copy that pose by taking a selfie
- Confirm that your selfie matches the pose and hit ‘Submit for review’
- Repeat steps 4 & 5 one more time
We use a combo of trusty humans and facial recognition technology to compare the facial geometry in the selfies you submit and in your profile pics.
You will receive "verified" status, once your selfie photo passes both pose and face verification steps, and a checkmark will appear on your profile.
Trouble with Photo Verification
If you’re experiencing trouble with a particular pose, always feel free to exit the photo verification flow and start again.
If you need more help with poses or are experiencing another issue related to photo verification, we’d like to know about it. Please contact us.
Pose verification extracts pose geometries from your selfie photo using computer vision technology, and determine whether the pose geometry matches with the one we requested. Face verification detects your face in your selfie and your profile photos, and extracts facial geometries using facial recognition technology to generate a unique number or “template.” When your selfie template matches the template from your profile pictures, we know you’re the same person as your profile photos.
The pose geometries and your facial geometry template are deleted upon completing verification. Your selfie photos are not added to your profile, but are stored on our servers to allow you to easily reverify in the future.
How do you use the Photo Verification information?
We will only use the selfie photos and facial recognition information for the purposes of account verification.
What will you keep after verification is complete?
We will keep the two selfies to make it easier for you to reverify in the future. We’ll also keep the results of the verification process (i.e., verified or not). We do not keep the underlying facial recognition information or “template.”
Under what legal authority do you process the Photo Verification information?
We process the Photo Verification information only with your consent.
What is Tinder’s Policy for the retention and destruction of biometric information?
Biometric information—namely, facial geometries that allow us to conduct facial recognition on your selfies and profile pictures for the purposes of verifying your account—are only created and retained with your consent for the duration of the account verification process. Typically, this is completed in a matter of minutes. Once your account verification is complete, the biometric information is deleted. We retain the selfies that you took in case you want to easily reverify in the future, but the facial recognition information pulled from those photos is deleted.
When Tinder deletes the biometric information following the completion of the verification processes, it is permanently purged from its systems and can no longer be retrieved.
How do I find more information about Tinder’s data practices, including my privacy rights?
Photo Verification is currently rolling out to both iOS and Android users in select test markets.